Our course
Drivings
- 800+ test-style questions
- 100+ hazard-perception clips
- Narrated chapters and unlimited mocks
Evidence checked
A free-to-start official-clip app versus a guided web course. Compare current price, study content, learning tools and the trade-offs that can actually change your decision.
Our verdict
The RAC app is a strong low-cost choice if you want official clips, five licence categories and offline study. Drivings is stronger on narrated chapters, a larger published real-world hazard library, a web study plan and a conditional pass-or-refund.
At a glance
Headline prices can hide billing periods, access limits and the learning tools you will use every day.
Our course
Compared product
Decision guide
Start with the constraint that matters most to your study routine.
The current listing advertises 770 licensed questions, all 36 DVSA-licensed CGI clips, and car, motorcycle, LGV/PCV and ADI coverage, plus offline use.
RAC is the stronger official-clip, multi-category app
The listing shows £4.99 in-app items and says you subscribe to unlock the full bank, but it does not state the subscription period. That period is not guessed here.
Read the App Store checkout before you rely on the headline
RAC lists question voiceover and 35 tutor videos. Drivings publishes full narrated chapters, a web plan and a conditional pass-or-refund.
Drivings is the more complete guided course
Feature by feature
Compare study content, access, pricing and support side by side.
Scroll sideways if needed to see both product columns.
| What to compare | Drivings | RAC |
|---|---|---|
| Study content | ||
Question bank A licensed bank across categories is useful if you are not only taking the car test. | 800+ test-style questions The published UK car bank is mapped to the current syllabus with explanations.[2] | 770 licensed questions The App Store listing says the app includes over 770 DVSA-licensed theory questions.[4] |
Hazard perception Official CGI clips and real-world clips train slightly different recognition habits. | 100+ real-world clips Timing feedback uses the test’s 0–5 scoring model.[1] | 36 official CGI clips The listing says you can practise all 36 DVSA-licensed CGI clips, plus bonus clips with cheat detection. A separate £0.99 hazard-perception IAP is also listed.[4] |
Extra learning formats Video lessons and sign quizzes can help, but they are not the same as narrated chapters. | Full narrated chapters Every chapter is available as end-to-end audio.[1] | Tutor videos and sign quiz The 2026 listing advertises 35 RAC tutor videos, a 150+ road-sign quiz and English question voiceover. Full narrated theory chapters are not advertised.[4] |
| Access and value | ||
Offline study A downloaded app remains usable without mobile data. | Connection required The current learning service loads content online.[1] | Works offline after download The listing says no internet connection is required once the app has downloaded.[4] |
Supported UK categories Both products now cover the main UK theory-test categories; the difference is the rest of the course. | Car, motorcycle, LGV, PCV and ADI The listing says the 4-in-1 app covers those categories.[4] | |
Published pricing A listed IAP price is not the same as a confirmed billing period. | £69.99/year or £2.99/week Annual includes a 7-day trial; weekly is charged immediately.[1] | Free start; £4.99 IAP, period unconfirmed The listing shows £4.99 DVSA-licensed theory IAPs and says you subscribe to unlock the full bank. The subscription period is not stated on the listing checked on 20 August 2026.[4] |
Pass guarantee Marketing claims and contractual refunds are different things. | Conditional pass-or-refund Requires the specified course and practice completion before the first attempt.[1] | No pass guarantee listed The current iOS listing does not advertise a money-back pass guarantee.[4] |
Prices can vary by platform, promotion and tax treatment. Confirm the final amount and renewal period in the provider’s checkout.
Product details can change. Check each provider before you buy.
Drivings.com
UK theory-test plans and pricingDrivings.com
UK theory-test coursesDrivings.com
Mock examsApple App Store
Driving Theory Test Kit | RAC